Daily Archives: December 2, 2011

I don’t get it…

The Three Stooges aka Moe, Larry and Curly. Despite their huge success, I never was able to find the humour in this comedy act. I don’t find people physically and verbally abusing each other entertaining.

The Three Stooges, although they didn’t use this name during the early years, first took the stage in 1925 and continued performing until 1970.Their first movie, Soup to Nuts, filmed in 1930, marked the beginning of their very successful movie career.

A testimony to their immense following, The Three Stooges have an official Website,  a Facebook page, and you can even follow them on Twitter @thethreestoges.

A new movie, directed by the Farrell brothers and featuring a new crop of stooges will be released in 2012. With Sean Hayes as Larry, Chris Diamantopolous as Moe and Will Sasso as Curly, this movie has a few more well-known actors such as Jane Lynch (Glee) and Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm). Unfortunately, the cast of Jersey Shores will be part of this movie. Need I say more?

Maybe this time I will understand the magic of Moe, Larry and Curly… Am I the only who doesn’t get it?

If you’re interested in learning more about The Three Stooges, visit Wikipedia; it has a very detailed page on them.

Animals on film: an neverending source of entertainment

It is a known fact that, more often then not, put a pet  in a commercial and people will watch. Before the arrival of the Internet, America’s Funniest Home Videos always had a few funny videos featuring animals. Quite a lot of money was won by those submitting their “masterpieces”.

Today, YouTube is filled with clips starring all kinds of animals. Some are cute, others funny and quite a few of them just plain wrong.

Whether you enjoy watching a kitten giving a massage to another kitten, a panda bear mom getting scared by her baby panda sneezing, or a dog simply chasing his tail, you can always find something to watch, not necessarily worth watching though, online.

‘Tis the Season!

December is here! And with it, all that the Holiday Season has to offer. For me, this is when I get to pull out all my favourite Christmas movies and spend some time with my family. Some of these movies have been around for a number of years already, others are more recent, but all of them are funny.

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989): The best Christmas movie!

How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000): Jim Carrey is the best Grinch. And Cindy Lou Who is so adorable.

Home Alone (1990): Slapstick comedy, gotta love it!

Elf (2003): Will Ferrell makes for a very big Elf.

A Christmas Story (1983): Whenever I see a kid all bundled up I think of this scene.

There you have it, some my family’s favourite Christmas movies. What are some of yours?

What’s in a name?

As I opened my computer this morning an article on Sympatico.ca caught my eye.  Twenty-five cars made it on “The Worst Car Names Ever” list. I must admit, although not hilarious as the author claimed, some of them are pretty funny.

Here’s my top five:

The Chevrolet Luv. The worst part is probably the tag line that accompanied it “Chevy Luv: Built to Stay Tough”.

The Chevrolet Citation. This one is personal, I owned one and it kept breaking down and leaving me stranded. If you ask me, a citation should have been issued to GM for selling that lemon. And to add insult to injury, it was ugly!

The Ford Probe. The word “probe” doesn’t conjure up positive images…

The Toyota Celica Tsunami Edition. This one is not funny, simply a representation that timing is everything. This vehicle made its debut shortly before the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami and earthquake that destroyed so many lives.

The Ford Aspire. I had a colleague who owned one of these. It was a lovely shade of hot pink. He got real tired of the vacuum cleaner jokes…